Love’s Labours

This is a song I had knocking around. I think songs are just another format for the poem really. Enjoy.

 

Love’s Labours.

I saw without divining.

I knew it from the start.

She left with perfect timing.

My world would be torn apart.

                      *

I found it without seeking.

I felt it all around.

She broke me without speaking.

My world turned upside down.

                      *

Well I worked until my back was broken.

Still didn’t seem to work it out.

All that talking so softly spoken.

Still nothing much to shout about.

                      *

I sensed it without knowing.

All at once I had no care.

Even with suspicion growing.

My soul would not despair.

                      *

I knew it without perceiving.

The writing was on the wall.

I wouldn’t be left here grieving.

My soul would still stand tall.

                     *

Well I worked until my back was broken.

Still didn’t seem to work it out.

All that talking so softly spoken.

Still nothing much to shout about.

Leave a Reply

